I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
I just installed Debian 11 with XFCE and somehow not in the sudoers file. Have you an idea of what step I might have gotten wrong during installation?
I used debian-11.4.0-amd64-DVD-1.iso and not debian-11.4.0-arm64-netinst.iso which I'm installing now?
I used debian-11.4.0-amd64-DVD-1.iso and not debian-11.4.0-arm64-netinst.iso which I'm installing now?
-
- Emeritus
- Posts: 2435
- Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
- Has thanked: 14 times
- Been thanked: 55 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
If you give a Root password and a User password the User is not on the sudo file.
If you give no Root password then a User password the user is in the sudo file.
To correct this and grant sudo access to the default user:
AS ROOT
apt-get update
apt-get install sudo
usermod -a -G sudo <username>
Now reboot the system.
(It's just enough to logout/login and not necessary to reboot the system)
If you give no Root password then a User password the user is in the sudo file.
To correct this and grant sudo access to the default user:
AS ROOT
apt-get update
apt-get install sudo
usermod -a -G sudo <username>
Now reboot the system.
(It's just enough to logout/login and not necessary to reboot the system)
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Everything worked until the last line of code. Did I do something wrong:
Code: Select all
root@debianvm:/home/luis# usermod -a -G sudo luis
-
- Emeritus
- Posts: 2435
- Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
- Has thanked: 14 times
- Been thanked: 55 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Yes, and I should have added that the last line of code rendered:
I rebooted anyway and ran:
Which rendered:
Then I reran that last line of code and got the same message.
Code: Select all
bash: usermod: command not found
Code: Select all
sudo vsudo
Code: Select all
luis is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
The reason I wasn't in the sudoers file to be because I chose the first option:
-
- Emeritus
- Posts: 2435
- Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
- Has thanked: 14 times
- Been thanked: 55 times
- sunrat
- Site admin
- Posts: 7364
- Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Has thanked: 133 times
- Been thanked: 649 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Try
Code: Select all
# adduser luis sudo
https://wiki.debian.org/sudo/
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Use 'su -' rather than 'su'. Otherwise your PATH is not set correctly.LAPIII wrote: ↑2022-07-21 17:57 Yes, and I should have added that the last line of code rendered:
Code: Select all
bash: usermod: command not found
- sunrat
- Site admin
- Posts: 7364
- Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Has thanked: 133 times
- Been thanked: 649 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Ah yes, that would do it.hamishm wrote: ↑2022-07-22 02:09Use 'su -' rather than 'su'. Otherwise your PATH is not set correctly.LAPIII wrote: ↑2022-07-21 17:57 Yes, and I should have added that the last line of code rendered:
Code: Select all
bash: usermod: command not found
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
-
- Global Moderator
- Posts: 3049
- Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
- Has thanked: 5 times
- Been thanked: 133 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
No. Partitioning has nothing to do with this. As previously explained, the reason is because you set a root password.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 2022-11-10 22:27
- Has thanked: 1 time
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
I created (or filled in the fields) for both a root login & PW, and a user login & PW using the Debian 11 net install.
After first boot, my root login does not work -and- the user account is not on the sudoers list, so I'm entirely hosed.
Why does the offered root login option, fail to behave as advertised?
How can this be fixed short of a full new hours-of-fun installation?
I do, yes I do, want a root account. There's some things that just do not work the same, sudoing from a user account (run across this in graphics driver install, it's a real thing, humor me).
After first boot, my root login does not work -and- the user account is not on the sudoers list, so I'm entirely hosed.
Why does the offered root login option, fail to behave as advertised?
How can this be fixed short of a full new hours-of-fun installation?
I do, yes I do, want a root account. There's some things that just do not work the same, sudoing from a user account (run across this in graphics driver install, it's a real thing, humor me).
-
- Emeritus
- Posts: 2435
- Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
- Has thanked: 14 times
- Been thanked: 55 times
- dilberts_left_nut
- Administrator
- Posts: 5441
- Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
- Location: enzed
- Has thanked: 21 times
- Been thanked: 88 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Define "does not work".****_freebird wrote: ↑2022-11-10 22:36 After first boot, my root login does not work -and- the user account is not on the sudoers list, so I'm entirely hosed.
viewtopic.php?t=52993How can this be fixed short of a full new hours-of-fun installation?
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 2022-11-10 22:27
- Has thanked: 1 time
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Thanks, arochester, for the quick pointer. Alas, I find that I cannot "su" as the instructions say, with result:
su: Authentication failure
I tried booting into the "recovery mode" kernel, and interesting complaint ends that effort:
"Cannot open access to console, the root account is locked.
See sulogin(8) man page for more details"
Why the setup would create a locked account, without any indication, eludes me.
And I can't install sulogin without sudo or root access, it doesn't come with the base install....
The link from dilberts_left_nut worked out for me, in that I was able to get a shell prompt,
as root, and re-apply the root password; now the Debian login page accepts my root login.
su: Authentication failure
I tried booting into the "recovery mode" kernel, and interesting complaint ends that effort:
"Cannot open access to console, the root account is locked.
See sulogin(8) man page for more details"
Why the setup would create a locked account, without any indication, eludes me.
And I can't install sulogin without sudo or root access, it doesn't come with the base install....
The link from dilberts_left_nut worked out for me, in that I was able to get a shell prompt,
as root, and re-apply the root password; now the Debian login page accepts my root login.
-
- Posts: 1413
- Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
- Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation
- Been thanked: 12 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
To unblocking root, enter
You will be asked about password, it is root password. After that you will be can get root by command
Code: Select all
sudo passwd
Code: Select all
su -
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 2023-03-06 22:35
- Has thanked: 3 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Ok I am following this thread because I am trying to load Debian 11 32 bit on an old laptop. I dont want to fill the landfills with old equipment so fixing this can donate to someone who needs it or I will add it to my collection to play.
I have installed almost all default settings no problem. I used to use UNIX AIX years ago but been out of it a long time so please help me. My root definitely works if I follow of your advice to do the
su -
Definitely it works.
Yet when I try to install google OR tightvnc I get the same issue password does not work.
I have added the user to sudoers with
su -
adduser z sudo
worked fine. Then I exit SU to back to user and try to install the google or tightvnc packages.
Being a windows user I made the mistake of adding user "z administrator" as I got used doing that in windows to put the user at the bottom of list.
Is that my problem. I need help I have been doing the old trusty MAN for a few hours cannot see what issue is.
PS Brings back memories doing cd and ls commands. I once deleted a hole installation with the rm - command for a test to restore a disastor recovery tape. The team with IBM I was working with was not impressed. I was young lol.
thanks
I have installed almost all default settings no problem. I used to use UNIX AIX years ago but been out of it a long time so please help me. My root definitely works if I follow of your advice to do the
su -
Definitely it works.
Yet when I try to install google OR tightvnc I get the same issue password does not work.
I have added the user to sudoers with
su -
adduser z sudo
worked fine. Then I exit SU to back to user and try to install the google or tightvnc packages.
Being a windows user I made the mistake of adding user "z administrator" as I got used doing that in windows to put the user at the bottom of list.
Is that my problem. I need help I have been doing the old trusty MAN for a few hours cannot see what issue is.
PS Brings back memories doing cd and ls commands. I once deleted a hole installation with the rm - command for a test to restore a disastor recovery tape. The team with IBM I was working with was not impressed. I was young lol.
thanks
- sunrat
- Site admin
- Posts: 7364
- Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Has thanked: 133 times
- Been thanked: 649 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
What command are you using to install these packages? And what errors are shown if it fails to work?debianuser81 wrote: ↑2023-03-06 22:43Then I exit SU to back to user and try to install the google or tightvnc packages.
You can check if you actually added your user to the sudo group with the command
Code: Select all
$ groups
Usually we prefer for users to start a new thread for issues rather than join an old one. Will let it slide this time.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 2023-03-06 22:35
- Has thanked: 3 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Thank you
I am starting to love UNIX again but hate the type errors I can mistake. CAPS and small letters make a difference and I wish it was more idiot proof like windows. i know there will be lots of comments on that. Please i love all operating systems even AIX Unix and System 370 and CMS VMS. LOL.
From reading and reading I had to add the user to the SUDOERS file with adduser right?
It worked. Got past the installation password now it works to install.
But when I try to load in a possible 32 bit Google Chrome I get errors with ending
"Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages."
Is there a debian 32 bit Google chrome package out there or if not that is why I am getting errors?
I am also trying to load in TIGHTVNC and cannot even find. I need a .DEB at the end of the installer is that correct?
Please help me thanks you newbie to Debian on Thinkpad R40. It cannot do windows anymore as you all know.
I am starting to love UNIX again but hate the type errors I can mistake. CAPS and small letters make a difference and I wish it was more idiot proof like windows. i know there will be lots of comments on that. Please i love all operating systems even AIX Unix and System 370 and CMS VMS. LOL.
From reading and reading I had to add the user to the SUDOERS file with adduser right?
It worked. Got past the installation password now it works to install.
But when I try to load in a possible 32 bit Google Chrome I get errors with ending
"Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages."
Is there a debian 32 bit Google chrome package out there or if not that is why I am getting errors?
I am also trying to load in TIGHTVNC and cannot even find. I need a .DEB at the end of the installer is that correct?
Please help me thanks you newbie to Debian on Thinkpad R40. It cannot do windows anymore as you all know.
- sunrat
- Site admin
- Posts: 7364
- Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Has thanked: 133 times
- Been thanked: 649 times
Re: I'm somehow not in the sudoers file.
Google dropped 32 bit support for Chrome in 2016 so that's a no-go.
You can install Chromium which is the open-source build of Chrome, from the Debian repositories; it does have a 32 bit version. Install it with Synaptic or whatever package manager you are using. In CLI you can do simply
Personally I much prefer Firefox as do most Debian users according to a recent poll. The Bullseye version is called firefox-esr in the package manager. It also has a 32 bit version.
You can install Chromium which is the open-source build of Chrome, from the Debian repositories; it does have a 32 bit version. Install it with Synaptic or whatever package manager you are using. In CLI you can do simply
Code: Select all
sudo apt install chromium
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ” Remember to BACKUP!